By default, Strongbox does not clean up or remove unused custom icons from databases. This is because many people like to have a set of custom icons in their databases that they can pick and choose from. However, some users prefer to keep things neat and tidy in regards to icons and also prefer their databases to have a smaller file size.
If you prefer to delete unused icons, follow our instructions below...
To Delete or Strip Unused Icons
1. Go to Preferences > Advanced > Strip Unused Icons on Save - Switch/Check ON
2. Make sure that the icon is not referenced by any entry (see note below).
3. When you are sure that the custom icon is no longer referenced by any entry, simply save the database and Strongbox will remove the custom icon for you.
NB: Historical entries and Recycled entries
Custom icons can appear to be unused even when it is actually being used. If you have an entry that previously used an icon, and then changed the icon, the item will still have some history (by default the last 10 changes). In a similar way, recycled entries can still hold a reference to custom icons. These historical or recycled entries can make it so that they can’t be removed by Strongbox automatically.